Her story

Haley Hoops began her horn playing career at the age of 10 years old with a Holton single F horn. Her first teacher was Corbin Wagner of the Detroit Symphony, and later Bryan Kennedy, also of Detroit. At the University of Michigan, Haley studied with Lowell Greer and was also fortunate to have been in the large and small ensembles of both H. Robert (Bob) Reynolds and Gustav Meier. In the summer of 1992, Haley performed with the All-American College Band at Disneyland in Anaheim, Calif. It was there that she met Richard Todd, a Los Angeles-based horn player, whom told her that if she wanted to play professionally, she could, because “there’s always room at the top”. Having a great affinity for California, Haley returned the following summer of 1993 and studied with David Krehbiel at the Music Academy of the West in Santa Barbara. In 1994 and 1995, she attended the National Orchestral Institute in College Park, Md., and in 1996 and 1997, she attended Tanglewood.

Haley’s first performing jobs were as a Fourth Horn player with the Ann Arbor and Lansing Symphony Orchestras while she was working on her Bachelor of Music degree at the University of Michigan. After graduation, Ms. Hoops moved to Evanston, Ill. to pursue a Master of Music degree at Northwestern University with Professor Gail Williams.  Two years after graduation, she was named Second Horn player of both the Grant Park Festival Orchestra in Chicago and the Richmond Symphony Orchestra in Richmond, Va.  Five months in at Richmond, Ms. Hoops won her current position as Second Horn of the Dallas Symphony, where she has been since 1999.

Haley Hoops has had the pleasure to collaborate with several fine principal horn players including:

Andrew Bain, Jonathan Boen, William Caballero, Nicole Cash, David Cooper, Jasper De Waal, Jeff Fair, Elizabeth Freimuth, David Heyde, Gregory Hustis, Roger Kaza, Benjamin Jaber, Lin Jiang, Julie Landsman, Jennifer Montone, Karl Pituch, William VerMeulen, and Gail Williams

31-18-0001 1.jpg


Gail Williams
David Krehbiel
Corbin Wagner
Bryan Kennedy

William Barnewitz
Jaap van Zweden
Gustav Meier
H. Robert (Bob) Reynolds